Fact Sheet about the USA

The United States of America

  • The United States of America is a federal constitutional republic.
  • The country consists of fifty states and a federal district.
  • It is situated mostly in central North America.
  • Most of the country (forty-eight contiguous states and Washington, D.C., the capital district) lie between the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans.
  • The country is bordered by Canada to the north and Mexico to the south.
  • The state of Alaska is in the northwest of the continent, with Canada to the east and Russia to the west, across the Bering Strait.
  • The state of Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific.
  • The country also possesses several territories in the Pacific and Caribbean.

Here is a list of pages about the USA: